yrmusic.comartistsbiosKenneth Fuchs

Kenneth Fuchs (b. 1956)

View Full Size

Kenneth Fuchs wrote In the Clearing (Eight Poems by Robert Frost) for Coro Allegro, a professional choir in Boston, Massachusetts. Settings of the six poems in the public domain are available through Yelton Rhodes Music. The Oklahoma Choral Directors Association commissioned Immigrants Still, a setting of the fifth canto from On Freedomís Ground by Richard Wilbur. Fuchs wrote it as a memorial to those who died on September 11, 2001, at the World Trade Center in New York City.

Fuchs has written for orchestra, band, chorus, jazz ensemble, and various chamber ensembles. Naxos has released two recordings of his music performed by the London Symphony Orchestra with conductor JoAnn Falletta and producer Michael Fine. The first disc (An American Place, Naxos 8.559224) received two 2005 Grammy Award nominations: ìBest Instrumental Soloist with Orchestraî (Thomas Stacy, English horn, and Falletta for Eventide) and ìProducer of the Year, Classicalî (Fine). The second disc (Canticle to the Sun, Naxos 8.559335) features LSO principal horn Timothy Jones in a concerto Fuchs composed for him. The two recordings represent the continuation of more than 20 years of collaboration between Fuchs and Falletta, beginning in 1985 when they were students at Juilliard. In October 2001, Albany Records released Kenneth Fuchs: String Quartets 2, 3, 4 (Troy 480), performed by the American String Quartet. Fuchs also created with playwright Lanford Wilson three chamber musicals presented by Circle Repertory Company in New York City: A Betrothal, Brontosaurus, and The Great Nebula in Orion. Fuchs serves as professor of music composition at the University of Connecticut. He received his doctor of musical arts degree in composition from the Juilliard School, where his teachers included Milton Babbitt, David Diamond, and Vincent Persichetti.


Music by Kenneth Fuchs

Kenneth Fuchs's Website

YR4403 Devotion
YR4404 Fireflies in the ...
YR4405 Hannibal
YR4406 Immigrants Still
YR4402 Nothing Gold Can ...
YR4400 October
YR4401 Stars

:: We Welcome Your Feedback::
Send Feedback, Bugs Reports and Comments!
yrmusic.comartistsbiosKenneth Fuchs
Home .:. Catalog .:. Artists .:. Download .:. Info .:. Contact
Copyright 2011 Yelton Rhodes Music / Barton Rhodes Press    
To place an order, email: